We, The People The Seven States

The United States of America
John Wallis

The Seven States

( May 25, 1787)

In a letter to a friend, Massachusetts delegate Rufus King reported that "New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Delaware, Virginia, North & South Carolina were represented on Friday [May 25, 1787]; and the convention proceeded to appoint Gen[era]l [George] Washington their President and Major [William] Jackson their Secretary. We are adjourned until Tomorrow, and flatter ourselves that Massachusetts, Connecticut & Georgia will be then represented." A quorum, or a set of number, of delegates from each state were needed in order for that state to be represented.

From Letters of Delegates to Congress, 1774-1789: Vol. 24, p. 288-89

Return to the We, The People timeline